Founded in 1960 by Dr. C.S. Hallpike and Professor C.O. Nylén, the Bárány Society is an international interdisciplinary society that facilitates contact between scientists and clinicians involved in vestibular research.

We also support otoneurological research and education, as well as helping to establish evidence-based consensus and standardization regarding defining syndromes, diseases, diagnostic procedures, and treatments in the field of neurotology.

The Society’s namesake is the late Robert Bárány, who was a professor of otorhinolaryngology at the University of Uppsala, Sweden from 1926 to 1936. In 1916, Professor Bárány was awarded the Nobel Prize for his groundbreaking work on the physiology and pathology of the vestibular apparatus.

Bárány Society presidents have all been tenured professors of otorhinolaryngology at the Uppsala University:

  • Arne Sjöberg (1960-1967)
  • Hans Engström (1968-1978)
  • Jan Stahle (1979-1989)
  • Matti Anniko (1990-2012)
  • Göran Laurell (2012-Present)

We hold a regular international scientific conference every two years, each time in a different city elected by our members. Every six years, our meeting is held in Uppsala, Sweden. For more information, please visit our Meetings page.

Bárány Society Organization



Marianne Bergstrom
Department of Otorhinolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery
University Hospital (Akademiska Sjukhuset)
SE-751 85 Uppsala, Sweden
Phone +46 18 617 60 43
E-mail marianne.bergstrom@akademiska.se

Membership Committee


Standardization Committee

Teaching Course Committee